INSPIRATION FOR THE DRESSMAKERS BALL- Sarah at Crafty Sew & So

In the run up to The Dressmakers Ball, we’re bringing you some inspiration and advice on making yourself the ball gown of your dreams!  You can go as complicated or as simple as you like for the ball- dresses in simple shapes offer the chance to really show off a fabulous fabric, while more complicated patterns offer a fun challenge to more confident sewers.  Whatever you chose to make and wear, we cant wait to see you in it!

Our very own Sarah made this dress from 8113 by Cynthia Rowley for Simplicity for our trip to Monaco last September!


I made this dress for a work trip to Monaco which included a Gala dinner event. I wanted to create a dress which was comfortable as we’d be sitting down to eat dinner, and cool, but most of all really stunning!

I chose “view A” which I thought had a hint of Grecian styling to it.

Photo 18-09-2016, 19 24 13.jpg

I used purple crepe which was beautiful to work with and held it’s shape really well with very few creases after being transported in hand luggage. The dress had a fairly gathered skirt and the weight of the crepe helped the gathers hang and drape rather than bulge.

I used gold satin for the waistband and yoke which extends to the front of the shoulders of the dress. I wasn’t sure if I might end up looking a bit like a bar of dairy milk, but I love the finished result!

I embroidered the waistband on our Brother Innovis V5 sewing and embroidery machine. I used 2 shades of purple thread and a design from Urban Threads. They have really great designs for modern embroideries.

Photo 13-01-2017, 17 02 10 (1).jpg

I hemmed the bottom by first stitching around the hem 0.7cm from the raw edge then turning the hem up once, then I trimmed the raw edge to a few millimetres then turned the hem again to create a beautiful neat finish which I am really happy with.

Instead of using the facings provided in the pattern, I decided to fully line the bodice in self fabric instead of using the facing provided, this created a lovely smooth finish with no lumpy bits.  I also opted not to put pockets to keep the skirt smooth.

Fabric:

Our luxury triple crepe is perfect for this pattern, as it has a little weight to it and drapes beautifully!  We have a few different colours avalible of this on our website.

Photo 22-02-2017, 17 34 40.jpg

We have this gorgeous crepe-backed satin in four different colours on our website!

blue crepe

Leave a Reply

