Mistletoe and wine- My Christmas Dress 

Hi there! Today I’m blogging about my Christmas dress.

When we got the latest Dashwood Studios Christmas range in store last September I immediately fell for the subtle mistletoe print on a lovely deep green base.

I love the lime green on the deeper green base.

I’m really enjoying mixing bright colours this winter. We made a fun felt ‘tinsel’ garland for the shop and decorated the window display Christmas tree dress with brightly coloured baubles.  There was a definite green, red and gold theme but with a modern feel.

felt-tinsel

I’ve always loved ochre as a colour but never quite knew how to wear it. One of my favourite kidswear ranges that I designed when I was working at George was an ochre, navy, aubergine and coral range. This year I threw out the rulebook for my wardrobe and teamed ochre with other bold autumnal hues-deep purples, teal and green.

I wore my mistletoe dress with my ochre cardigan and deep burgundy tights on Christmas Day.


I also received a lovely mustard cableknit jumper as a present. Ochre/Mustard is definitely a key colour in my wardrobe this season!

I will have to make something in this gorgeous blue based white and ochre spot viscose from the shop next!


I used my own self drafted bodice block for the dress and then added a simple straight panel gathered skirt.


I shared a little insta-vid about creating neat gathers here: https://instagram.com/p/BMi1ASThYI3/

I have developed the blocks to start creating our new pattern range with, it’s a slow process but I will share much more progress on this over the next year. I made a size 3 from our sizing spectrum.


Using narrow bright green satin binding, I bound the edge of the armhole and the neckline which I reshaped into a V neck. If I was to make this again I would probably be a little more daring with the V and make it a little bit more plunging!


I also added an invisible zip which creates a nice smooth silhouette. I think it’s nice to use invisible zip on the bold print so as not to distract from it. I finished this off with a little embroidery thread loop and a fancy crystal button!


I went to Whitby for Christmas with both my family and my partner Matt’s family and we had a fantastic time walking along the coastline, eating fish and chips, playing games and enjoying lots of quality time with each other.


We had a great run up to Christmas in the shop too with lots of fun Christmas workshops.

Hope you had a fantastic Christmas too. I’d love to see your Christmas makes so please do share them on our Facebook page or tag us on Instagram.

Happy crafting,

Sarah x

Leave a Reply

