Our Favourite Sewing Books: Crafts

Like all crafty types, we have a small library of books we have collected for inspiration, ideas, projects and, just because we love them. There are so many wonderful sewing books out there, we can’t help but pick up a new one when it’s a good deal!   Out of all the books which line our shelves, we do have a few favorites- here are some of the books which we pull out to use time and again.

Freya’s Favorite:  All Sewn Up by Chloe Owens

all-sewn-up-hardback-1344331685

I’m not usually one to go for very embellished projects, but I’m a big fan of Chloe’s book, which is full of fun, quirky and beautiful projects which I would love to adorn my home with.  Its a beautifully bound book, which I love to look through whenever I’m looking for new inspiration.

timthumb

I particularly like the ideas using freehand machine embroidery, as I’ve been having a lot of fun with this technique recently.

All-Sewn-Up-book-George-the-giraffe-plush-project

Chloe’s cute giraffe toy project is featured in issue 30 of Love Sewing Magazine so why not pick up a copy and give it a try!

Sarah’s Favorite: Half Yard Home by Debbie Shore

9781782211082

This book has a great range of projects to make great gifts and homewares which you’ll actually use! I’ve made the wine glass coasters as a quick gift idea for friends- these and a bottle of wine get’s any party going!

wine glass coasters

Next on my list is the project bag – maybe as a gift for a relative (if they are lucky!)- and the circular cushion – I think this would look great in our new range of Micheal Miller fabrics “Arrow Flight”

collectionbanner_arrowflight-01

I really like that all these projects can be completed with less that a half yard of fabric – making them perfect stash busters! I always make sure I have some coordinating fat quarters from Crafty Sew&So in my craft room to whip up a quick gift should the need arise!

Debbie has published a wide range of books, all with nice clear instructions. Sometimes the fabric choices are a little chintzy and not to my taste but the ideas are great and I enjoy making them up in my own choice of fabrics.

 Freya and Sarah x

Leave a Reply

