A Foxy Little Number!

I fell for this Robert Kaufman Fox print fabric back in February when Freya and I were visiting Stitches Trade show. As soon as it was delivered to the shop I snaffled away 2m not sure of what I would use it for but knowing I had to have it!

foxes

The fabric is a quilting weight cotton with a pretty bold pattern which calls for a simple shape. I did toy with using this for a skirt but I’d have the age old dilemma of what tops to wear with it. So when I saw the free pattern with last month’s Sew magazine I thought it would be a great match.

6262_env_front

The dress is a simple, classic shape. I’m always drawn to fit and flair shapes as I have a classic pear shape figure and I find this style most flattering on me. I do however, have a habit of making my dresses a little on the snug side as I like to have a more defined waist for special occasions. This time I wanted to make a dress in a fun print which I could wear during the day, which I could actually move around in!

IMG_6958

… and here it is! I went for view C with little capped sleeves, I added some fullness into the skirt – about 20cm to the centre front and back- as I felt it deserved a bit more fabric in the gathers. I cut out a size 12 and I didn’t make any other changes to the fit- amazing!

I gathered in the sleeves as I prefer a slightly gathered sleeve head and often find that there is a bit of excess fabric at the sleeve head on new look patterns making it very difficult to set a flat inserted sleeve. Gathered sleeves are easier and cuter I think!

photo 2

Another thing I always mean to do with dresses I make is add pockets, I love a good pocket in a day dress! I used the pockets pattern from the Colette Moneta dress as they are the perfect size and shape. I simply inserted them into the side seams before sewing them up. Pure pocket joy!

IMG_6962

I also added a little belt, which I learnt to make from Tilly’s book Love at first stitch. I think this is the perfect finishing touch and breaks up the busy print. I used Dashwood twist in mint which matches perfectly.

photo 1

The one thing I’m not so sure about is the neckline. For me it’s a little bit meh! Neither low enough to be sexy or or high enough to be sophisticated. I think I would lower the neckline a bit the next time I make this pattern up, which I will. I love the little cap sleeves and the fit is really super comfortable. I am really very happy with this make.

IMG_6957.JPG

I wasn’t the only one to think this fox print would be perfect dress material. Both Roisin at Dolly Clackett and GBSB winner Charlotte had the same idea!

Dolly Clacket fox dress

image from instagram: @roisinmouldon

fox-dress

Image from BBC i-player

If you love this fabric as much as me you’ll be glad to hear it’s now available in our online shop. Why not take a look at our great range of designer fabrics.

Now what fabric shall I make it in next? Maybe I should consult my stash which I’ve just finished re-organising! You can read more about my next sewing plans post-sort-out over on my blog.

Happy sewing!

Sarah x

Leave a Reply

