Poppy Print Cambie Dress

I started my foray into dressmaking with fun frocks, and even though I have worked on a verity of other projects over the last five years, dresses are still my one true love!  While I wear them in every season- layered up with thick tights in winter- the summer months are my favourite.  My pattern stash contains a number of different dress patterns, but my current favourite is the Cambie Dress by Sewaholic.

Sewaholic recently stopped producing the Cambie paper pattern, but I’ve heard that they are bringing it back! Yay! It’ll be something I’ll make sure we stock.

For my latest make, I’ve sewn the a-line style skirt of view A, in this fab poppy print cotton that we sell at Crafty Sew & So.  I’ve made some small adjustments to the pattern pieces to help it fit my body, including taking the shoulders up by 2cm and graded the pattern out at the waist and the hips.  Basic alterations like that are easy and make such a difference to the finished fit.

Cotton is the perfect fabric for a fun dress- there are so many different prints to choose from!  I love a good floral, but I’m not against something a little funky or a novelty print.  I was thinking about using an awesome rainbow zigzag cotton we had in the shop for a sundress, but we sold out before I could convince myself I would wear it.  Kinda regretting it now the weather is kinda warming up.

IMG-20160605-WA0002

This dress makes a regular rotation in my wardrobe, I basically wear it every time it comes out of the wash!  I’m looking forward to being able to wear it without my cardigan as an extra layer, but so far I’ve been seriously let down by the British summer!  We’re only 5 days into June and it’s rained far too much.

Freya x

Leave a Reply

