Rebekah’s UFO Pile

There is a wicker basket in the  office at Crafty Sew & So which contains my UFO’s (unfinished objects). I only have a couple of dressmaking projects that I haven’t completed, don’t ask about homewares.  I think I may have fallen for the old adage “out of sight out of mind” and so I’m going to aim to tackle them this month.

I started working with this beautiful satin a fair few months ago with the goal of making a Grainline Studio’s Tiny Pocket Tank.   It turns out I was not quite ready for such a slinky, slippery fabric, which was challenging to work with, to say the least! I’d only worked with cotton before.

satin top.jpg

I put the project on hold and made two more tank tops from the same pattern, but in jersey fabrics.   Working with jersey is very different to working with stable cottons, particularly the second one I made, as it was a very light rayon fabric.  Now I’ve made more garments, including working on the bias, which will have hopefully been good practice for the satin!

One of the great things about volunteering at Crafty Sew & So is that I have a constant supply of advice and enthusiasm. This encourages me to keep trying new things!  Recently, Freya has been going through a phase of making beautiful pyjamas, including Tilly and the Button’s Fifi set and Closet Case Files Carolyn Pyjama sets.

Personally, I’m a big fan of lounge pants. I have a RTW pair which are my current favourite.  Essentially, on days where I can stay home, they are what you’ll find me wearing.

When we received a selection of jersey’s earlier in the year, I was inspired by this swan fabric and determined to replicate my beloved Gap pair.   I was lucky enough to pick up enough to make a set of pj bottoms before it sold out.

Sarah has a great pattern for leggings she’s designed herself which we altered slightly to make suitable for pjs.   We added a couple of centimetres to the width of the pattern  around the leg to make them a little looser. I used the overlocker the piece them together.

swan leggings2

All I need to do now is add the elastic band and hem the bottom.  It shouldn’t take long.   I’m also thinking of making a simple jersey t-shirt with a cute applique pattern from the remnants of my fabric.  I can’t wait to have a finished set!

Rebekah x

Leave a Reply

