The View From The Shop Floor

This weekend marks one year since Sarah and I decided to go for it and open up a shop together, it’s been a long journey.

One of the things that brought us together was that we both really wanted to bring something new to Leicester, something we felt was missing. Leicester has a long history of textiles, but the lack of availability of quality fabrics has been something that has irritated me as I’ve developed my own dressmaking skills. I’ve bought so much fabric on-line and been disappointed with the quality, I simply wanted somewhere local to me I could go, talk to people about sewing, get advice, and feel the fabric.

I had been planning on opening a haberdashery for a few years, but it had always been a long term goal, until I met Sarah. Because I’ve worked in retail for so long, I knew I had the skills and experience to run a small shop, but I didn’t have the sewing know-how to teach workshops. Meeting Sarah and partnering up with her has helped me realise my dreams, and provided me with an invaluable partner to work with. Because we can sound ideas off each other, lean on each other for support and split the ever-increasing workload, I know now I could never have done this on my own.

That this is now a reality still shocks me a little. I can’t believe how lucky I am to have had the opportunities to bring me to the place where I can make my goals a reality. I owe a lot to my father, who passed away a couple of years ago, and from whom I inherited the initial cash to invest in my dreams. Crafty Sew & So means so much to me in so many ways.

Freya x

One thought on “The View From The Shop Floor

  1. lisa mcdonagh says:

    What a beautiful and most inspirational story. You should both be very proud of what you have achieved together. I’m sure that your Father will be bursting with pride right now!

    I love visiting your store, it’s a little bit of heaven within the city centre and is always such a happy place to walk into, even on the most greyest if days!!

    ☺️

    Like

Leave a Reply

