Sewing with Mum

Today we’re celebrating our mothers. Freya and I would not have picked up our first sewing needles if not for them. Now they enjoy coming to lots of our classes to learn how to make lovely sewn projects and develop their skills.
This Mother’s Day we decided to shine the spotlight on them to find out what they like to sew and why….

My Mum, Jane is looking forward to her upcoming retirement and having lots more time for sewing. I enjoyed reminiscing with her about her our mutual love of sewing.

I love to sew anything! It’s more what I don’t like, such as curtains as there is sooo much material. I enjoy making tops and dresses but am a little more nervous of making trousers. I’ve been making lots of dresses lately including a laurel dress which has been in the window of the shop in February and I am looking forward to wearing to a wedding next month.

The most memorable thing I made for Sarah was a pair of red cord dungerees which were worn and worn – whenever clean!

Things have changed a lot since I started sewing back in school. My favourite new discovery is air erasable pens, they make marking fabrics so much easier.

IMG_5300

Freya also had a lovely sit down with her mum, Kim. ย She is also looking forward to spending more time in front of a sewing machine. As a teacher, she works really hard and enjoys some down time learning new skills.

I love to sew pretty, practical things like cushions and placemats because they fit into my home and I can look at them and recall the pleasure I felt as I created them.

When you were four years old I made you a bed quilt set on my treadle sewing machine – you so loved to cuddle up in that duvet with me to read at bedtime!

The most useful sewing tip I have been given is to check twice and cut once!

ย 12710762_10153287177242051_1093716975348226624_o
Do you enjoy sewing with your Mum? If so we’d love to hear more.

We wish you all a very happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

